Customer reviews and feedback of Seek NYC shopping tours and Garment District tours


See what our customers have to say! For additional customer feedback, please visit our
Yelp Page or our Trip Advisor page.



Garment District Tour Feedback

If you are seeking a one of a kind, highly personalized, friendly and professional tour experience, especially one focused on the history and current state of the fashion industry in New York, I highly recommend Seek New York.  Our tour guide, Liz, was such an inspiration to my daughter who is an aspiring fashion designer in high school.  She was encouraging, honest, energetic and extremely knowledgable.  Our time together flew and we hope to see Liz again the next time we visit to learn more.  It was a rainy day but it did not matter at all. The communications from booking through day of were stellar.  Just a fantastic experience...well worth the money and promised to deliver hoped for memories.  Thank you Seek and Liz!!

--Yelp Review by Mona S., 1/1/16


As a birthday gift to my wife who is a seamstress and designer we flew to New York and took a private garment district tour with Liz from Seek tours. It is not an exaggeration to say that this tour and guide are the best! We spent three hours learning the history of New York from the fashion industry perspective. We also were able to meet individuals in the current industry who have historical roots to the area and get a firsthand view of how fashion has and continues to change. Of course, the culmination of the tour was being able to have an expert like Liz on hand. Her knowledge of the history of New York City and the fabric and fashion world is truly impressive. Her additional knowledge of which stores, fabric houses and vendors would be of interest to her clients is equally impressive. If you are looking for someone to show you where to really shop or show you the true history of New York, go with Seek and ask for Liz.

--Yelp Review by JABMOORE, 8/22/16


We just finished a wonderful tour with Liz. She was so friendly and informative. Our tour was a private one, only three of us, including two 14 year old girls. Liz made it so fun. The stores she took us to were wonderfully overwhelming.  I haven't sewn in a couple years and so want to start again after this trip. This tour is must if you have even the slightest interest in Fashion. Thanks Liz!

--Yelp Review by Jennifer B., 6/26/14


My teen daughter is planning to study fashion in college a few years from now. She asked to go to NYC and take a preliminary look at some schools and the Fashion District. I guessed that a Fashion District tour would be a good start - oh boy, I can't imagine how we would have seen and done all that we did in 2.5 hours without Liz! She even got us a look into my daughter's top-choice school's studio space and a chat with a faculty member. Needless to say, my daughter was blown away and has a clear vision of her fashion career plans now. Outstanding!

—TripAdvisor Review by CAVDEB, 4/17/16


Liz was absolutely awesome with SEEK Tours. Rebecca was great, talking to me before hand, and making it easy to arrange. Our tour guide, Liz, shared the history of the garment district, fashion, answered any questions and took us to the places we would like to go, recommended shopping and fashion ideas. We also discussed restaurants and NYC in general. She was friendly, helpful, and made it fun, despite the rain. She even gave me her umbrella so I didn't have to buy one and get all wet. What a wonderful memory! We got to go to the "Project Runway" locations (at my request) and I had a blast at "MOOD"!  The history of the garment district and fashion were amazing too! thanks so much, I have recommended to all of my friends and family, so will my friend, Jane, who was with me, on our girls' weekend in NYC! Well worth every penny!!!

--Yelp Review by Terri B., 4/13/14


Booking a Seek NYC tour was one of the best things I did on a recent trip to New York. We did the Garment District Shopping Tour and Rebecca was our tour guide.  She was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and answered all our questions. Upon booking my tour online, I discovered I'd miscalculated my travel time to the city and was going to be 30-45 minutes late to the tour. She was kind enough to offer a phone number at which I could reach her upon arrival so that I could catch up to the tour and also offered a discount code I could apply to my order since I'd be missing the first part.  To me, that level of customer service needs to be commended- hence my writing this review.   The tour itself is worth it - go ahead and book if you are on the fence wondering what you might get out of it or what you might learn or see. The route is well-thought out, but be prepared to do some serious walking (i.e. dress appropriately with both comfortable shoes and appropriate-for-the-weather attire.) The subject matter is a pleasant mix of history of buildings and the development of the industry in the area,  current pop-culture references, and all those insider-facts and personal stories that you can only get from an experience like this one. The company smartly keeps the group sizes small - some of the locations you'll visit are quaint little shops whose tight space doesn't really allow for large groups - so you feel like you're getting a very personal experience out of it. (for us there were only three guests and Rebecca). Thank you to Rebecca for a wonderful tour - we'll be back for some of your others in the future!

--Yelp Review by Lindsey S., 12/4/13

I took a tour with you with my daughter in February...I wanted to let you know how invaluable the tour was for us. We now know our way around the Garment District. We've shopped for fabric in Mood and at B&J. And we bought trimming. My daughter-in-law has a wedding in her family and my daughter is designing her dress!"

--Customer Feedback from M.R., 6/4/13


Thank you for the wonderful tour - you are such an excellent guide - your experience, professionalism and personality are great gifts- I loved the historical part...I have visited NYC so many times, but your tour is one of the highlights ever.

--Customer Feedback from E.G., 9/6/12


We decided to take a chance and book a fabric tour on line and spent the morning on a private tour with Liz who was outstanding, Our college junior is a budding fashion designer with fashion show in the fall, and he needed more fabric. We had been to the garment district before but were overwhelmed by the many choices for buying fabric. Liz simplified all of that. She took us to variety of stores in all price ranges and included notions and trim shops. She also took us to a book shop that was just for fashion mags and related publications. In addition, we learned a lot about history of the area. Most importantly she talked to our son about all aspects of design and having a fashion line. Liz's experience and expansive knowledge made it a great day for all of us. We returned to buy fabric the next day. Thank you Liz!

--Trip Advisor Review by TG2000, 7/21/14


Shopping Tour Feedback

I had the most fun on my shopping trip with Amalya of Seek New York Shopping Day Tours! My husband booked a few hours of vintage shopping in SoHo for me for my birthday and it was fantastic!!! I will definitely use them again!!!

—Trip Advisor Review by Cheryl P., 7/13/16

You exceeded our expectations! There is a huge element of risk when finding a random company on the internet from hundreds of miles away but the experience proved invaluable...The New York shopping experience was made possible by your services. And I want to let you know, they are planning to come back next year. 

--Customer Feedback from A.M, 4/14/14

I contacted Seek shopping tours and worked with Rebecca, the proprietor, to help me figure out where to take my 3 teenage girls to find fun and unique clothing shops. She referred me to her colleague Amalya, an awesome young woman who quickly picked up on what we were looking for and planned an outing for us.

She met us in the Bowery area which was a perfect spot between SOHO, the East Village and NoLita. Amalya directed us to a variety of wonderful storefronts including, Anya Ponorovskaya, where we met the proprietors who make what I would call semi-custom dresses using their own patterns and fabrics from their inventory. She also walked us over to a sample sale where my daughters purchased Holland & Sherry Bespoke cashmere sweaters at 70% off.

Seek offers many different services, including historical tours of SOHO, which would be really fun to do on another trip. For some-one like us, who doesn’t know their way around NYC and is looking for unique places, Seek tours was the way to go.

—Trip Advisor Review by JoJosontheroad, 7/1/15



Thank you for such a wonderful experience! Amalya was wonderful and my niece Mia loved her and the entire experience!! Thank you again for everything --I let the concierge know at the Ritz Carlton how great the services were from your company and to recommend you if they had a person who was interested in the various aspects of shopping! Again, thank you for being so wonderful and helpful, allowing it to happen!! Have a great week!

—Customer Feedback from L.D., 8/1/16


I just wanted to touch-base with you and thank you for everything in making my daughter's birthday a very special treat for her.  She absolutely LOVED the fashion tour and got some really cool stuff from some local designers.  Amalya did a really great job in her selection of shops and areas based on the information we provided.  She also had such a wealth of knowledge and provided a lot of information regarding the Garment District.  Loved hearing about the history…Thank you from the bottom of my heart for going that extra mile for us in trying to make this experience special for her.  You all are awesome and I just want you to know your hard work is very much appreciated.

—Customer Feedback from M.K., 3/28/16


Personal Shopping & Styling Feedback

Holly, thank you so much for your time in assisting me yesterday evening with picking out a holiday outfit for my office party.  I will definitely contact you again in the near future for other occasions I may need your assistance on.  Hope you will be available then!

—Customer Feedback from N.C., 12/10/16


I used Liz as a 'personal shopper' to help me select and purchase a fall/winter wardrobe. It's something that I've been wanting to do for a long time as I'm terrible at selecting appropriate and flattering clothing for me. I filled out the online survey indicating my likes/dislikes/goals. Without ever meeting me, she selected the most perfect clothing that I liked immediately! How the heck did she do that? In a mere two hours, I had my entire fall/winter wardrobe tried on, selected, matched outfits including shoes, and purchased. It was an excellent use of time and for me, who despises shopping, money well spent. Oh, and I MUST say that Liz selected VERY reasonably-priced clothing in Lord & Taylor--almost everything was on sale and then I had a 20% coupon. Liz is a delight and a very talented shopper. I plan to use her...forever! LOL. It's worth it! I encourage you to take advantage of this service if you've never done so. It was a great step for me!

—Trip Advisor Review by Jill 1 Jill, 11/22/15

It was our first personal shopper experience with Liz and she was so talented! We filled in a questionnaire prior to our meeting at Lord & Taylor and she brought us a great selection. Not only that, she also gave us tips about clothes, fashion sense as well as recommendations about food and attractions in NYC. It completed our NYC experience! Thank you, Liz!

—Trip Advisor Review by Vanessa Q., 2/16/16


Holly was absolutely brilliant to work with. She "got me" very quickly and managed to help me find exactly what I wanted. She was so knowledgeable about fabric and also managed to somehow explain to me (a novice) in a way that I was able to understand exactly what else I needed to buy to make sure my dress will look perfect. My seamstress is thrilled with the material and is excited to get to work on it. 

—Customer Feedback from C.B., 1/26/17



Customer feedback of NYC fashion tours with Seek New York Tours